Why do Pennsylvanian politicians spam (me)?
Wednesday, January 23rd, 2008In 2006 I had a very frustrating battle with politicalsystems.net trying to get myself off their mailing lists. I had very little political sympathy for the the office holders, never lived in their districts, and, while i had lived in Pennsylvania, it had been six years before.
It’s been quiet for a while, leading me to believe that the third request to the owner of the domain name, Gregory Hildebrand, might have finally had an effect. (”Unsubscribe” had failed miserably.) That was June 14, 2006.
Today, i got mail again. Well, *i* didn’t, Rose Savchak with my [old address]@grey-cat.com as the recipient.
I can’t believe it. Well, maybe i can. People have given up on spam, politicians probably don’t ask questions about how a company like http://www.constituentsdirect.com gets its mailing lists, and they probably are susceptible to a sounds-good looks-good sales job, but don’t have anyone on staff with any technical expertise.
It’s quite possible that Gregory Hildebrand, the person who received my requests in 2006, is simply a competent systems administrator on the team that supports the back end. He may have no contact with whomever feels the pressure to acquire email addresses.
Zain Khan is the Chief Executive Officer of Constituents Direct. He’s registered with American Association of Political Consultants. He’s possibly the one saying “We need more addresses!” but maybe he doesn’t understand how to buy ethically collected email addresses and profiles. This honorable mention might help another political consultant think that this organization is worth doing business with. I wonder if they consider them against the “competitor” http://iconstituent.com/. No competitor — the domain name is owned by Gregory Hildebrand. How did i find this company? Well, Constituent Direct Project Manager Michael Kinne has a Linked In page listing him as “Current
National Account Representative at iConstituent, LLC” in the Harrisburg, PA area. There’s the PA connection — and checking out the DNS of the website makes it highly probable that he’s the same Michael Kinne as the project manager of Constituent Direct.
One continues to wonder if this multinamed organization really is the leading provider of services to politicians. If the best is scrounging email addresses and spamming, what do the other organizations do?
Update: 2008-08-01 Today’s spam is from State Representative Marguerite Quinn of marguerite at repquinn.net, addressed to Barbara Karr [old address]@grey-cat.com.